Holiday Cottage in the Dordogne France

Copy of reviews left on the Holiday Rentals Site

Rating

5 out of 5

Do we really have to go home??

5 out of 5
Review Submitted: 02 July 2012 Date of Stay: June 2012
What a lovely surprise awaited us in France, this must be the nicest property we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few on our many trips to France. The Barn was absolutely beautiful, from the furnishings, the huge TV, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, all we could have hoped for and then some. Linda and Nigel have thought of everything, some things we needn't have taken with us. The kitchen was more than well equipped for all of our meals, a fantastic fridge freezer so plenty of cold water and ice on hand. Linda and Nigel were around whenever we needed to ask a question but never invaded our space.

The pool was brilliant, warm and clean with plenty of sun-loungers for that serious order of the day - sun bathing!

They also provided a really lovely welcome pack for us with wine, butter, fruit and jam, totally unexpected but very welcome indeed :-) A real home from home and a place which we would highly recommend and somewhere we hope to return to.

Thank you again Linda and Nigel for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Jan and Rob Page


Rating

5 out of 5

Perfection!
Pauline C.
Review Submitted: 
October 5, 2011 Date of Stay: September 2011

We stayed here for two weeks but would have quite happily stayed much longer. This immaculate house is in a lovely, peaceful location with Nigel and Linda on hand next door should anything be needed. However, they are totally discreet and will not intrude. They have managed to provide a beautiful holiday home with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. They really have thought of everything! We have stayed in various holiday homes in France and they were all lovely but this is exceptional! Should we stay in this area again we wouldn't hesitate to re-book.


Rating

5 out of 5

A and J, Berkshire, United Kindom, July

Review Submitted: O5 September, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011

We just wanted to say a big thank you for helping us have such a great holiday. You have a beautiful home in a fantastic location and it was wonderful to be able to experience living in part of it for the week. The environment and facilities that you provide in the gite and by the pool are the best we have ever experienced in France and we would definitely consider a return trip in the future.

Rating

5 out of 5

The Reillys and the Oyarzabals - July/August 2011

lesley R. East Sussex, United Kingdom
Review Submitted: August 15, 2011 Date of Stay: July 2011
"Perfect House" 
"Perfect Location" 
"Perfect Hosts" 

All in all "Perfect"

Rating

5 out of 5

Super holiday house - highly recommended

Ian S. Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Review Submitted: August 1, 2011 Date of Stay: July 2011
The other reviews of L'Erable convinced us to book the house for our holiday this year and we were not disappointed. We can certainly confirm that L'Erable's facilities are as good as advertised and we were not disappointed in any way (except for the unseasonable cool weather, sadly). An extra facility that we discovered was the recently installed wi-fi which kept my ipad-using daughters happy. 
Nigel and Linda were great hosts providing advice about the local area (and a v. interesting look at Nigel's studio). 

Highly recommended - we tend to move around when booking holidays but if we decided to come back to this area, L'Erable would certainly be our first choice.

5 Out of 5

Debby Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Review Submitted: March 28, 2011 Date of Stay: September 2010
My family and I stayed for two weeks in September 2010, we had the most amazing holiday, the house was beautiful and had everything that we could have needed and more. The scenery and location are stunning and everyone in the surrounding villages and shops were polite and helpful. It was a pleasure to meet Nigel and Linda who were very accomodating and informative but yet respected our privacy at all times. I have already recommended L'Erable to many of my friends and will be returning very soon for another relaxing holiday.

5 Out of 5

Our Holiday

Peter Belgium - Roeselare
Review Submitted: 
November 15, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful house. 
Perfect by Linda and Nigel reception. 
We got a nice tour and a chilled bottle of wine. 
Perfectly maintained home. 
The beautiful swimming pool maintenance and beautiful garden with terraces were added for the children and ourselves.

Nigel Thank you for the nice tips for excursions in the region. 
A beautiful holiday home. 
Sincerely 

Peter and Heidi

5 out of 5

Superb holiday!
Tracy, Michael, James and Ben Manchester, England
Review Submitted:
September 7, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010
We stayed in this property for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. The house is the best that we have stayed in and far exceeded all of our expectations. It is superbly equipped, comfortable, spacious and clean. The pool is fantastic and very private. We cannot recommend this property highly enough, in fact we have already booked to go again for 2 weeks next year!

5 out of 5

Fabulous Dordogne Holiday, Highly Recommended
Tina Shropshire, UK
Review Submitted:
August 16, 2010 Date of Stay: August 2010
We are a family of five, with three energectic teenagers, and spent a fabulous week at l'Erable in August. Linda and Nigel, the owners, made us feel very welcome and at ease there. The house, garden, pool and location are all absolutely stunning. The house is beautifully restored and all furniture, fittings and equipment provided are of the highest quality. It was especially good to have the use of such a great kitchen, unlike some we have experienced in the past, and the bathrooms too were all superb - very clean and a pleasure to use. The garden and pool furniture was all of a good quality too, with a very nice dining area outside and plenty of sun loungers and parasols to go round. We would definitely recommend L'Erable to friends and family, and wish we had had two weeks there instead of one! Thank you, Linda and Nigel for providing such a great holiday for us!

5 out of 5

Two week holiday July/August 2010
Fred Lincoln UK
Review Submitted:
August 15, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010
Choosing accommodation on the basis of website information can be a bit of a lucky dip; sometimes the reality is far different from the grand description! In the case of L'Erable high quality accommodation was described and was more than delivered. Rest assured that if like us, you look for great specification then you will not be disappointed.
We particularly enjoyed the setting. Although the owners' house is on site, the barn is in no way overlooked and since Linda and Nigel take great care to keep a low key presence, you get the impression of having the whole place to yourself. The outdoor space is expansive. The large and sunny patio to the rear was a great place to relax in the evening and played host to many a barbeque. The large swimming pool is sited to get the best of the sunshine throughout the day and evening and importantly, is completely secluded.

L'Erable is well situated for access to the many beautiful villages and towns in the area, none of which are more than 45 minutes drive away. We enjoyed visits to Perigeux and Brantome and canoed down the Dronne from the fantastic village of Aubeterre. Even given the poor exchange rate, dining out was at reasonable cost and the local food was excellent.

As a family we can recommend this holiday experience without reservation. The owners are friendly, helpful and informative, the setting is very quiet, access to the area is good and most of all the accommodation is first rate.


5 out of 5

A wonderful week
Nicky, Grace and baby Luke Ireland
Review Submitted:
August 6, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010
The moment we walked into Linda and Nigel's charming barn, we knew we were in for a treat. Everything was just as we hoped it would be. And more.
The house is beautifully and tastefully designed. The kitchen comes straight out of an Ikea catalogue - gleaming white, top quality appliances and every utensil you could think of waiting to be discovered in the drawers. The sitting room/lounge is wonderful. There is a library of books and a CD collection guaranteed to relax and soothe the soul. The bedrooms were lovely and cool, the furniture was of an excellent standard and the bathrooms were of 5 star quality.
The pool was gorgeous. Large umbrellas shaded the comfy, cushioned lounge chairs which surrounded the pool. The area around the pool was beautifully manicured.
The countryside around the house was fabulous. We were surrounded by sunflowers, hay fields and scenic walks. Saint Severin, a village nearby, held such
delights as warm croissants and cafe au lait. Aubeterre sur dronne has a lovely lake beach, and we spent many a happy hour relaxing by the water.
Linda and Nigel were extremely helpful - always available for advice but never intrusive. Lovely lovely people. They made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return to this beautiful house, and would recommend this beautiful property without hesitation.

5 out of 5

Content!
Crackers Surrey, England.
Review Submitted:
August 4, 2010 Date of Stay: June 2010
To say we were relieved when we arrived was an understatement, sadly the property we stayed in for the previous week was nothing like advertised!!!! More equipped than my kitchen at home and with the huge tv , the ipod base and numerous cd's the children were happy! Nigel and Linda greeted us and showed us around and were there if we needed anything (which we didn't!) but respected our privacy which was great. Pool was cleaned every morning and in general a perfect property. Decided already to book for 2 weeks next year as have been coming to France for 8 years now and this is by far the best place we have stayed in. Thanks Linda & Nigel and see you next year :-))
5 out of 5

Perfection!
Rob, Jenny & Laura West Wickham, Kent UK
Review Submitted:
August 17, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
We have holidayed many times in France and this is by far the best property we have ever stayed in.

The barn is exceptionally well equipped, tastefully kitted out and very clean and well maintained. Highlights include the superb kitchen (I want one!), the air-conditioned bedrooms and the many bathrooms... well, in fact, pretty much everything!

The pool is very large and private and the setting is tranquil and "away from it all". The owners were friendly and hospitable but at the same time respectful of our privacy.

I can't fault this place at all... and I'm generally very fussy! We can't wait to return, please don't change anything!

5 out of 5

l'Erable: perfect property, perfect place
Hendrik & Claudine Vlamertinge,West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Review Submitted:
August 8, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
If you want to relax, this is the perfect place for your holiday. The materals thats being used are from a high qaulity; The kitchen, 3 bathrooms, livingroom... are very clean and beautiful.The large swimmingpool is cleaned every day and is only for his visitors.
I would recommend this place to everyone.


5 out of 5

Get away from it all
Les Singes Edinburgh, UK
Review Submitted:
July 15, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
This delightful property is perfect for a truly relaxing holiday. The exterior is traditional but inside you will find every modern comfort - this is one of the best equipped holiday homes we have stayed in. The rural setting is extremely tranquil but there are plenty or charming villages nearby and many interesting places to visit a little further afield.


5 out of 5

Excellent and highly recommended.
Rosevale Belfast
Review Submitted:
July 4, 2009 Date of Stay: June 2009
Wow! We had a fantastic holiday in this beautiful cottage. Both the property and surrounding countryside were stunning. The owners were very friendly and helpful whenever we needed anything but also very respectful of our privacy. Such a peaceful and relaxing time was had by all. Would absolutely love to go back again.

5 out of 5

Peaceful and Perfect
David&Sue Dorset
Review Submitted:
November 20, 2008 Date of Stay: September 2008
We have been holidaying in France for many years and have found that when you arrive it is rarely as it appears in the pictures provided, but on this occasion the pictures didn’t do it justice it was so much better!

When we arrived at L’Erable my wife said “WOW” as we walked into the kitchen and as we went from room to room it just got better and better, it was so well furnished.
We had sole use of the pool, which is very secluded and when we got up in the mornings it was cleaned and ready to use.

The kitchen is so well equipped and the whole place felt like a home and not at all like a holiday rental and the whole area is so beautiful.
The owners left us to our own devices but were always there if we needed to know something and were very helpful.

We know that we will book it again, hopefully for next year, because it was just the perfect place to spend what precious little time we get away.
The only downside of the holiday was we only booked 1 week not 2 and we won't make that mistake again


5 out of 5

This property is perfect
Adrian and Sharon Norwich
Review Submitted:
August 30, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
We had two fantastic weeks in this wonderful property and did not want to come away, we all said that we could happy live there, it felt like home.
It is in a great location in the Dordogne countryside but only five minutes drive from a pretty village and fifteen minutes from a town with all the shops you could ask for.
The property is spotlessly clean and is equipped to a standard that exceeded our expectations. The kitchen has state of the art appliances and has more cooking utensils than we have in our own home! Including a set of Le Creuset pots and pans. Having the three bathrooms is great and the en suites are of a high standard. The swimming pool is a good size and again is maintained to a very high standard. The owners are also very friendly and helpful, they are on hand and to advise about the area but are very respectful of your privacy.
Everything about this property is quality and there are so many extras that are not mentioned in the details that give it that real WOW factor.
I would highly recommend this property and would not hesitate in booking again in subsequent years.


5 out of 5

L'Erable
P&L Clithoroe
Review Submitted:
August 26, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
The cottage is superb and have already recommended to a few colleagues. It was great to have the cottage, garden and pool to ourselves, we all really enjoyed it!

I am sure we will be coming again at some point in the future - hopefully next year!